The original occupants of this graceful patrician residence were Count and Countess Dhane-Steenhuyze, Lord and Lady of Leeuwergem. The house was built as the couple’s winter residence in approximately 1760, during the late Rococo era. It was occupied by Mayor Minne-Barth, Georges Minne’s grandfather, in the 19th century, and was later home to baron Arthur Verhaegen’s father-in-law, notary Jules Lammens. The name ‘Hotel Verhaegen’ (as the building was known until 2004) not only refers to its former occupant; but also its historical description: ‘private hotel’ or city palace.
‘Hotel Verhaegen’ remained in the family for generations, and was revered as one of Ghent’s most magnificent architectural gems. The property was put up for sale in 2004. At the time, Marc Vergauwe and Jan Rosseel, a pair of interior designers with a penchant for classical architecture, were searching for a new location for their interior design studio.
Hotel Verhaegen immediately captured their hearts … an hour after their first visit, the designer duo decided to purchase and painstakingly restore the classic building to its former glory, yet with a somewhat contemporary twist. Jan and Marc now live and work in the property, where they enjoy running their exclusive B&B The Verhaegen.
The Verhaegen boasts four guest rooms, each with its own distinctive style and inviting ambience. High ceilings, intricate panel doors, a romantic four-poster bed, a hidden private parlour … beauty has never been quite so enthralling and, by turns, relaxing. Guests can enjoy a generous breakfast in the elegant dining room surrounded by imposing murals by Pierre Norbert van Reysschoot, relax with a book or a well-earned glass of wine in the sumptuous drawing room that showcases a tasteful blend of antique and contemporary furniture, or lose all track of time in the charming courtyard garden, enveloped by ornamental boxwood hedges. Indeed, closing your eyes amidst the greenery immediately conjures images of horse-drawn carriages and a colourful bygone age…